So I started THIS thing ages ago. And finished the knitting ages ago, too. However, because of the yarn and intended use of the thing, I decided it really wouldn’t be kind to gift it without a lining. Here’s the catch – I both suck at and hate sewing. So I asked my mom to do it. She was perfectly willing but…she procrastinates. Result: My friend’s birthday present, delivered several months late.

Yes, that’s a sock inside. I didn’t want it to look empty!

And how about the snazzy handle? Isn’t it perfect? Found it very inexpensively at M&J Trimming.

Want a close-up of that LINING?

I thought so. (Can you tell I’m excited about this? I’ve never had anything lined before.)

Specs:

Pattern: Brea by Norah Gaughan (I acknowledge I am jumping on the bandwagon a bit with this pattern, but it is very nice, and in my defense, I gave her plenty of pictures to chose from, and she chose this one, without any input from me!)

Yarn: Rowan Felted Tweed held double – not sure how much exactly…

Needles: US 7

Notions: handle as previously mentioned, gorgeous button from LYS, some random fabric from my mom’s stash

Ravelry: project page here

Despite being somewhat unhappy about being forced to pose for photos (my standard payment exerted from every giftee), Sarah loved it!

That last one isn’t terribly color-accurate, but it shows the pattern really nicely.

My only (minor) complaint on this is how the gussets on the edge don’t stay flat, but rather pooch outwards and downwards. Not really sure how that would be avoided, but probably won’t be as prominent once the bag has more than two socks in it…

