Okay. So today was Ivy Day (ALL the Ivies release their admissions today, although I’d already heard a yes from Dartmouth). Guaranteed drama right there, right?

I was hanging out at school with the visiting glass artists, trying to make stuff and not freak out, but gave that up around 4:50 (decisions supposed to come out 5PM or later, Harvard via email, Yale and Brown online), since my stomach had a growing population of butterflies and I was jittery, which is not a good state of being in front of a ~2000 degree flame. Circa 5:01 I borrow my friend E’s laptop to check. BAM. Rejected from Brown. BAM again 30 seconds later. Rejected from Harvard.

REELING. OUCH. Now PLEASE don’t take this the wrong way because I’m pretty sure I’m not an arrogant person, but I was an Intel Semifinalist (one of 300) and got a perfect ACT score (one of 176 on that particular test, don’t know how many for that year). My GPA is 3.96. By the end of this year, I’ll have taken 8 AP exams, and have gotten 5’s on the three I’ve already taken. I biked 100 miles to support cancer research. I sent them a CD of advanced violin repertoire and improvised music. WHAT DO THESE PEOPLE WANT?!

Needless to say, I was pretty crushed. I called my mom to let her know, and (to my credit) did not cry at all. She was pretty shocked. About three minutes later she called me back. “Are you SURE Brown rejected you? You can’t write to them and get onto some kind of waitlist or something?” She was clearly more desperate than I, or more hopeful. I explained that it seemed pretty definite but admitted I hadn’t read much more of the letter past ‘we regret to inform you…’ I gave her my Brown and Yale admissions ID’s and passwords so she could see and check, respectively, since E was leaving and I wouldn’t have laptop access.

Perhaps ten minutes after that, my phone rings again. I put down the molten glass to answer, and she says, “You’re in!” I was completely confused – did she have some secret Brown connection?

“No, YALE!”

Swoop. “Thank freaking goodness.”

