WARNING: VERY PICTURE-HEAVY POST.

Remember that lovely Manos from Stitches? Well, it has found its home:

And my sister, who was so reluctant to help me photograph those mittens, got quite picture-happy on this one (probably had something to do with our deal that I’d drive her to GameStop to get a new Wii game if she’d take pictures…).

Dont I look sophisticated? Yes, I made the mitens, too. No, theres nothing in that mug...

Don't I look sophisticated? Yes, I made the mittens, too. No, there's nothing in that mug...

I just noticed that the word scarf is typed entirely with the left hand. Convenient...

I just noticed that the word 'scarf' is typed entirely with the left hand. Convenient...

The sophistication could only last so long.

Octopus (pentapus?) fingers!

Octopus (pentapus?) fingers!

The corniness! It buuuurns! ...I like this picture anyway.

The corniness! It buuuurns! ...I like this picture anyway.

Contemplating tassels. Intently.

Contemplating tassels. Intently.

Specs:

Pattern: My own, strongly inspired by an Interweave Knits scarf.

Yarn: Manos del Uruguay silk blend…mmmm…it’s positively fabulous to knit with, seriously. Ate up a lot though – almost all of each of the five skeins.

Needles: US4

Ravelry: project page here

Estimated Time: ~20 minutes/row * 16 rows/stripe * 5 stripes = ~1,600 minutes or almost 27 hours. And since the timing of a row was in the garter stripe and there were two seed stitch stripes, it’s probably actually more than that. Scary to think about…

Commence frolicking!

This one (above, I mean) is my new facebook profile pic.

This one (above, I mean) is my new facebook profile pic.

Take pictures of me in it now. It looks soft.

"Take pictures of me in it now. It looks soft."

She clearly was not disappointed.

She clearly was not disappointed.

Good times…

