(EDIT: FORGET IT, ALETHIA! I’M POSTING THIS WITHOUT PICTURES. I’LL ADD THEM IF YOU EVER ACTUALLY SEND THEM! :P Pictures of knitting/spinning will come when I take them)

(this post has been written since Monday (by that I mean LAST MONDAY, the 23rd), but somebody *cough*ALETHIA*cough* didn’t email me lake pictures…)

This past weekend, I went with Alethia, her other half (henceforth to be known as Fuzzy), and another friend to Fuzzy’s house on one of the Finger Lakes. I was especially excited for it because we’re not getting to go to my favorite place in the world, my mom’s family’s house on Birch Island on Lake Winnepesaukee (of What About Bob? fame).

It was glorious. We waterskied, wakeboarded, and tubed:

PICS

PICS

PICS

We took the Glen Walk, which is basically walking up a stream that goes down several waterfalls which we had to climb up.

PICS

PICS

And somewhere along the way, I realized something – I think I’ve obtained a quality that I’ve admired in other people for a long time: I would describe myself as laid-back. I can pin down this transformation to the past year or so, but no more precisely. I’ve always loved and admired people who could be spontaneous, easy-going and fun-loving, and up for anything. I think, at least to some degree, I’ve obtained that.

I won’t hesitate to say that I used to be rather uptight. About lots of things. Stupid things. I mean, I still am a it – but I’ve loosened up a lot. I’ve never embarassed easily, but if somebody teased me, I used to get all defensive and irritating, but now I’m better about that – I can laugh at it. Or, I used to have a firmly preconceived notion in my head that I didn’t like hiking. But when we went for the Glen Walk (I capitalize it because it just seems to sound like that when people say it), I was more open-minded for some reason and instead of realizing halfway through that I was enjoying it, I had fun pretty much the whole time.

There are other examples that I won’t bore you with, but this realization is certainly a bit of a self-confidence boost.

The secret to this transformation? I think it is that I’ve confined my minor obsessiveness to less obtrusive aspects of my life – namely knitting. Also beasting sudoku puzzles and such…but mainly knitting. ;)

Now to knitting – the Mystery Shawl continues! I chose chart B for Clue 2, and I’ve gotten through the first few rounds finished the entire clue in one day, although I’m guessing this will be the last one with which I’ll be able to do that:

Mystery Shawl - to Clue 2

P.S. Other developments during the LONG period between writing this post and getting the rest of the pictures for it:

  • My spinning wheel (Lendrum DT) has been named Lenny
  • I’m attempting to spin sock yarn I finished a skein of sort-of sock yarn which turned out to be 207 yards and a bit heavier than sock weight – I might be able to get a pair of socks out of it…
  • I’ve developed a slight obsession with socks due to the Knitter’s Magazine contest
  • My summer is essentially gone – summer in the sense of sleeping in and lazing about, that is – music camp for a week, seven-week internship, week-long trip, then school again…
