When I decided to spin again, to ply that lovely purply stuff, I needed to free up a bobbin. So I balled up this multicolored silk I spun up ages ago – it was just singles, and not spun particularly evenly or anything, but for some reason it said ‘beret’ to me…I don’t even wear berets very often, but whatever. When yarn talks, a knitter listens. So I found a wonderful (free!) beret recipe, which I modified a bit to conform to my vision, and voila! A snazzy multicolored beret! The only snag with this quickie project was that the first time I bound off (it’s top-down), it was too tight and wouldn’t fit on my head. Undoing a silk bindoff is NOT FUN. I repeat – NOT FUN. It took half of the second Indiana Jones movie to do, the silk was so sticky. Then I redid it with two needle sizes bigger and all was well. Well, I supposed you’ll be wanting pictures, eh? Ask and you shall receive…

I’ve been wearing this thing most of the day – it makes me feel very Bohemian. Is that supposed to be capitalized? It always makes me think of it like Bohemia is a place or something…(yeah, yeah, RENT…)

Also, I decided to join the Goddess Knits Anniversary Mystery Shawl group on Yahoo! It’s free, and her designs are great, so I figured it would be a good place for my first mystery shawl and also my second lace project – first big one. I have decided which chart I’m using for Clue 1 – chart A. I’m putting that up here as much to stop myself from changing my mind again as anything else, though…

Here’s the yarn we found for it:

Lorna’s Laces. Mmmm…

